Thread: Chip or EFI

Carb and Points!

Chip or EFI

Hi bros, I know there are lots of info about it but it is too much that at the end is not clear enough.

Got a Tahoe TBI 95, the engine was rebuilt and put a big cam and flat pistons, now the ECM doesn´t know what to do, therefore it needs a new chip or an EFI system.

I'd rather an EFI system but it's too much for my budget.

Then, I'm leaning to a new chip. I have some experience with Diablo Sport and I thinks is similar to an EFI program, it just needs tweak some values and that´s it, very simple.

But about reprogram a new chip this is my main concern:

According to my research, I need to get a bin definition file but the file maybe doesn´t match my OEM setup, so I guess I need more knowledge about it, with an EFI tuner or with Diablo Sport I just need to add or substract a value but with Tuner Pro I think is more complicated.

Please tell me if I'm right or wrong about how to reprogram it.

This is my daily driver, I just want to optimize my engine, this is not for racing. I just need an optimal setup and that's it.

Regards

If the Tahoe has PCM 16197427 and a 4L60E then the information in this link is a good place to start for a chip: http://gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Injecti...Information-0D

dave w

Carb and Points!
    Quote Originally Posted by dave w View Post
    If the Tahoe has PCM 16197427 and a 4L60E then the information in this link is a good place to start for a chip: http://gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Injecti...Information-0D

dave w
    I put a T56 on it. I´ll check the PCM number and read that thread.

Thanks

Fuel Injected!
    try wester's garage

Carb and Points!
    Quote Originally Posted by tayto View Post
    try wester's garage
    You mean a custom tune? I guess so because their software is too expensive, at least for a final user.

Thanks

Fuel Injected!
    yes, a custom tune. diy is more than possible but easy to get frustrated and give up.

Quote Originally Posted by Antonio View Post