Thread: 95 G20 conversion van

Carb and Points!

95 G20 conversion van

I have a 95 Chevy conversion van I am looking to improve performance on. I am not looking to make it a fire breathing pavement pounding asphalt melting machine. Just looking to grab the low hanging fruit so to speak.

I use this van to pull a 16 foot travel trailer for vacation travel with the family. Other than being a backup vehicle to get to work that is all this vehicle will do. For the immediate future I am just looking to get a little extra power, fuel economy, drivability, etc. I am a mechanic by trade, so the mechanicals are no problem. I understand what the tuner community does but I do not possess the knowledge or the time to play with it myself. I spend enough time dealing with my current fleet job keeping up with tractor trailer emissions, regen and DEF concerns for Detroit, Cummins and International that I do not have enough time to learn how to tune gas burners.

I have been trolling recently for performance chips for My 95 G20 and nobody seems to carry anything for what I have. I have also noticed that playing around with Pre 96 Gm processors and proms seems to be common past time for a lot of people.

Just today I found a processor with the same part number out of an astro van as a spare at a local pull a part yard.

Is there a performance chip or reprogrammed chip to be had that will do what I am looking to do with stock equipment?

Suggestions for down the road improvments to hardware to take advantage of existing software are welcome.
    07 3.5 Honda Pilot
    97 2.0 Honda CRV
    95 5.7 Chevy G20 Coachman Conversion Van
    90 5.0 HO Ford Mustang
    95 4.0 Jeep Gr.Charokee
    89 650cc Honda Hawk

RIP
    87 2.3 Ford Mustang
    93 1.5 Honda Civic
    78 5.9 Dodge Ramcharger 2wd
    79 5.9 Dodge Ramcharger 4wd
    81 Suzuki GS550