Thread: EECV uncontrollable AFRs

Carb and Points!

EECV uncontrollable AFRs

Hi all,

I'm brand new to Gearhead. I have been getting into tuning EFI and it looks like I am at the right place for some sage advice.

I am in New Zealand and own two Aussie Ford Falcons - a 2001 AU2 XR6 VCT and a rare 1995 EF XR6 wagon. Both run the 4.0 SOHC inline six derived ultimately from the 200-250 American Ford six of the 1960's in front of an automatic. It's an all-round great engine. It has hemispherical combustion chambers, hydraulic roller cam, dual-path intake manifold and coilpack ignition, and produces 220-230 hp factory (the higher figure is for the AU2 VCT with variable cam timing). It's robust and will rev to 6000 rpm all day long (with the rev limiter increased). A number of US first-gen Mustang owners are swapping the Aussie engine in place of the factory six.

The engine uses the EECV speed-density ECU - the same box used in Mustangs of that era - so the code has long been cracked and there is a heap of information and support for tuning it. The strategy and definitions are very similar. I have a tuning pack and J3 chip from TI Performance and have used Tunerpro RT to tune my wagon for about six years. The wagon is (was) my daily driver, but I also use it for DYO drag racing over the summer. It's not super fast (best ET 15.12), but it's huge fun and wins a few races. I am a member of two Aussie Ford forums - Fordmods and Australian Ford Forums - but they have been unable to help with the problem I am having with it.